, ,

It is highly possible to find sushi that is gluten free. As always, you just need to inquire about a few ingredients.

Gluten Free Sushi

Soy sauce
Your dipping sauce needs to be wheat-free tamari, but also look for ingredients within sushi rolls that have been glazed with soy sauce (such as broiled eel) and avoid those.
Please do bring your gluten free variety of soy sauce to our sushi classes. However, we do suggest that everyone tries what they make without soy sauce, as when made fresh, sushi is absolutely sublime without the use of any additional condiments!

Gluten Free Vinegar
Rice vinegar should not contain gluten.

Gluten Free Sake
Sometimes called rice wine…in fact Sake is drank like wine but brewed like beer…It should be gluten free as well.

Gluten Free Sushi Rice
If a restaurant uses malt vinegar for the sushi rice then take a pass. Marukan rice vinegar is a great brand and tests at less than 5 ppm gluten.

Gluten Free Distilled vinegar
It has always been gluten-free. The only vinegar to avoid is malt vinegar, which is made from barley and is not distilled. There is no evidence that suggests vinegar might be dangerous for those who follow the gluten-free diet.

Gluten Free Flying Fish Roe or Tobiko
There is one hidden item that contains gluten and it always gets people. Flying Fish Roe or Tobiko often contains soy sauce. Most roe that is used in sushi restaurants today is synthetic. Caviar and real fish roe are obviously safe you just need to ask.

Gluten Free Imitation crab
Usually contains gluten. Some brands are made with tapioca instead of wheat flour, but these are harder to find. Try rolls that contain fresh crab instead.

Gluten Free Wasabi
Fresh Wasabi is gluten free; check the label on powdered wasabi, but many of these are gf as well. Fresh wasabi is gluten free; but it is always important to check the label on powdered wasabi. However, most use corn starch and tapioca starch, which are completely safe.

Sashimi is listed with gluten in the allergy list yet this should only be the soy sauce and without this, it should be gluten free.

Regardless of whether it’s whole-grain brown rice, polished white rice, long-grained basmati rice or even exotic black rice — is always considered gluten-free.
With Sushi, typically the only thing that you have to be careful with as someone suffering from coeliacs disease as it is not a visible addition to Sushi, is the vinegar that is used to season the rice.